wake-up call (another bit of the new book)

by s.m.

The phone woke her several hours later.  It was Selim, again.

“Hello,” he said.

“Hi,” she drawled sleepily.

“Did I wake you?”

“Mmm, I was just having a nap,” she replied.

“What are you wearing?” he asked, and she could tell he was whispering into the phone.

“Nothing,” she whispered back.  She heard his breath catch.

“What are you doing?” he asked.

“I’m thinking of you.”  She knew how to play this game.  “And how you left me alone all day.”

“I’ll be there soon.  That’s what I was calling to tell you.  Stay exactly where you are.  I’m leaving now.”

She glanced at the clock.  Nearly six o’clock.  He’d be early.  She wanted to get dressed in her new clothes, she really did, but she was happy in bed.  And if he wanted her to stay there, all the better.