weekend excitement.

by s.m.

great news…the first book of the Francesca trilogy is done!

here’s an excerpt from the beginning of the second book…

 

Francesca rummaged for her room key as they rode the elevator.

“Pack your bag,” he said as they walked into her room.

“Where are we going?”

He was dialing the room phone and speaking in Turkish; he held up a finger to her to wait.

When he hung up the phone he turned to her.  “Upstairs,” he answered.  “I booked you another room.  It’s a suite, with a private entrance.  You can stay there as long as you need to, wait it out for a few days.  You’ll have more privacy, you won’t be bothered.”

“Will you stay with me?”  Her question hung in the air for several seconds until he answered her.

“I’ll come by when I can.  But I’ll see to it you’re cared for.  They’ll treat you well here.”

There was a knock on the door and a bellman appeared, come for her luggage.  She gestured to the single bag and he took it and led them from the room.  The bellman spoke to Selim in Turkish and Selim translated for her.

“He says he hopes you’ll be very comfortable.”

Francesca took a deep breath, trying to stifle the nausea she felt in the elevator.  “I’m sure I’ll be fine,” she replied.  Selim stroked her hair and held her close to him.