inspiration #19 : Blow-Up.

by s.m.

 

 

my favorite director, hands down, is Michelangelo Antonioni.  I think I’ve written before about his “alienation trilogy” (L’Avventura, La Notte, and L’Eclisse) starring the ridiculously gorgeous Monica Vitti (oh, wait–I haven’t written, but I’ve pinned).  anyway.  the films are a bit heavy, but also breathtakingly beautiful, which I think is why I like them.

in 1966 Antonioni made his first film in English, in swinging London, about a photographer (modeled after David Bailey, parodied by Austin Powers) living the dream–wild parties, naked or half-naked women wandering around his studio / flat, drugs, sweet cars.  the film is Blow-Up, critically-acclaimed and Antonioni’s first commercial success.

it’s an English film by an Italian director about a fashion photographer.  you can rent it streaming on Amazon.  enjoy!