inspiration #9 : Lana Del Rey.

by s.m.

 

I’ve been listening to a lot of Lana Del Rey as I’ve been writing this summer (thanks, Michael & Jonathan).  It’s hard to say which song on  Born to Die  is my favorite; actually, after listening to the whole thing at least seven times, there aren’t that many songs I don’t like.  As far as my own experience is concerned, I have a strong affinity for “Blue Jeans” (“said you had to leave to start your life over”) and “National Anthem” (“before we go out, what’s your address?”).

But for inspiration?  “Video Games” is it.  I’ve always been curious about how two people fall in love / develop an almost-obsessive relationship that’s obviously on a fast track to disaster (not really a spoiler alert, just an observation).  I think “Video Games” is a good representation of that–it all starts out innocently enough but soon snowballs into “it’s you, it’s you, it’s all for you, everything I do…”

Also, this is just a fucking beautiful song and video.  Paz de la Huerta!  “I heard that you like the bad girls, honey, is that true?”